Skip to content

CallBird AI vs Smith.ai AI Receptionist

The short answer

  • Smith.ai AI Receptionist costs least at 100 calls a month: $212.50.
  • CallBird AI costs least at 500: $249.
  • CallBird AI has the lowest advertised price, $99, but costs $249 at 100 calls.
  • Pick CallBird AI if you want the lower bill at 500 calls.
  • Pick Smith.ai AI Receptionist if you want the lower bill at 100 calls or their own people to take over a call (as a paid add-on).
CallBird AI vs Smith.ai AI Receptionist, compared
CallBird AIsolo trades and small service firms that miss calls while on the jobVisit siteSmith.ai AI Receptionistlaw firms and home-service businesses wanting live human agents behind the AIVisit site
Cost
At 100 calls a monthCallBird AI$249Smith.ai AI Receptionist$212.50Lowest
At 500 calls a monthCallBird AI$249LowestSmith.ai AI Receptionist$800 through sales
Advertised fromCallBird AI$99 a monthSmith.ai AI ReceptionistFree, then $150 a month
The advertised plan coversCallBird AIThe $99 plan it advertises covers 50 of 100 calls. No price is published past that.Smith.ai AI ReceptionistThe $150 plan covers 75 of 100 calls.25 cost extra.
BillsCallBird AIper callSmith.ai AI Receptionistper call
Keeps answering past your allowanceCallBird AINot statedSmith.ai AI ReceptionistYesEvery plan publishes a per-call overage: $3.00 on Free, $2.50, $2.30 and $2.17 on Pro 75
Free trial or planCallBird AIPartlyThere is a seven-day free trial that puts the AI on a real line, but no standing free planSmith.ai AI ReceptionistYesA standing Free plan, not a trial: 25 real calls a month with no time limit
Month to month, cancel onlineCallBird AIYesBilling is month to month with no contract or termination feeSmith.ai AI ReceptionistPartlyMonth to month with no long-term contract, but canceling needs 30 days' notice
On the call
Books appointmentsCallBird AIYesThe AI checks the connected calendar live during the call, books the slotSmith.ai AI ReceptionistPartlyBooks live into Calendly, Acuity, Lawmatics, Housecall Pro or ServiceTitan during the call
Transfers to a personCallBird AIYesCalls transfer to the owner's cell mid-callSmith.ai AI ReceptionistYesTransfers to your own numbers on every plan, per caller type or by team member name
Human receptionists as backupCallBird AINoThere are no human agents behind the AISmith.ai AI ReceptionistPartlySmith.ai's own live agents can take over AI calls on any plan
After-hours rulesCallBird AIYesIt answers around the clock at no surcharge, and business-hours routing is a plan featureSmith.ai AI ReceptionistPartlyAnswers 24/7 on every plan, and it knows your business hours
Urgent calls escalatedCallBird AIYesOwner-defined emergency keywords trigger an urgent SMSSmith.ai AI ReceptionistPartlyUrgent call types can trigger an immediate SMS or email to a chosen staff member
Texts your callersCallBird AIPartlyThe product texts the caller a booking confirmation after an appointment is madeSmith.ai AI ReceptionistPartlySends one-way follow-up texts to callers after the call
Call summary by textCallBird AIYesEvery call ends with an SMS to the owner naming the caller, what they wantedSmith.ai AI ReceptionistPartlyInstant call summaries go by email, Slack or Teams by default
Language, privacy and trying it
LanguagesCallBird AIPartlyMulti-language support appears only on the $499 Enterprise planSmith.ai AI ReceptionistYesEnglish and Spanish
HIPAA, with a signed BAACallBird AINoThe vendor states plainly that it holds no HIPAA certificationSmith.ai AI ReceptionistNoSmith.ai states plainly that it is not HIPAA compliant
Hear it before you buyCallBird AIYesA public demo number reaches the live product rather than a scripted recordingSmith.ai AI ReceptionistPartlyNo public demo number
What it connects to
Google CalendarCallBird AIYesGoogle Calendar, Microsoft Outlook, Apple Calendar and a built-in scheduler are namedSmith.ai AI ReceptionistNot stated
OutlookCallBird AIYesGoogle Calendar, Microsoft Outlook, Apple Calendar and a built-in scheduler are namedSmith.ai AI ReceptionistNot stated
CalendlyCallBird AIYesGoogle Calendar, Microsoft Outlook, Apple Calendar and a built-in scheduler are namedSmith.ai AI ReceptionistYesNative AI booking into Calendly (paid Calendly plan required), Acuity Scheduling
Your trade’s softwareCallBird AINot statedSmith.ai AI ReceptionistYesNative integrations with ServiceTitan and Housecall Pro for home services
Keep your numberCallBird AIYesYou keep your existing business line and set conditional forwarding to the CallBird numberSmith.ai AI ReceptionistYesYou keep your existing number and forward it to the dedicated Smith.ai number
In short
What it isCallBird AICallBird AI is an AI receptionist for small service businesses that answers calls 24/7, books appointments into a connected calendar and texts the owner a summary after each call. Plans run from $99 to $499 a month.All answers for CallBird AISmith.ai AI ReceptionistSmith.ai AI Receptionist is the AI-first phone answering product from Smith.ai, a company that has run human virtual receptionists for more than ten years. It is priced and sold separately from those human receptionist plans, and leans toward law firms and home-services businesses.All answers for Smith.ai AI Receptionist
CheckedCallBird AIOctober 14, 2026Smith.ai AI ReceptionistOctober 15, 2026

Costs are for 100 or 500 calls a month of 2½ minutes each, on the cheapest public plan. How we price