# Johnni AI — AI phone receptionist for Australian and New Zealand trades, with local voices and calendar booking.

> Source: Receptionist Index — https://receptionistindex.com/johnni-ai (structured, researched, re-verified)
> Facts last verified: 2026-10-15

Johnni AI is an Australian AI receptionist that answers a small business's phone 24/7 in an Australian or New Zealand voice, qualifies the inquiry and books the job. It also makes follow-up calls and answers website voice and text chats.

| Fact | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Website | https://johnni.ai/ |
| Price | from A$49/month (about $34) billed monthly, A$44/month (about $30) billed annually |
| Free trial | Partly |

7 day free trial with 30 free setup minutes of test calls on every plan; card taken at signup but not charged; plan starts the day your number is issued or after 7 days. No standing free plan.

## What it costs at your call volume

**Cost at 100 calls a month** · Yes — A$144 (about $100) a month on Pay As You Go for 100 calls of 2.5 minutes (250 billed minutes). Billing increment not stated: computed per second (2.5 min a call). If they round each call up to the minute (3 min), it is A$169 (about $117).

> Pay As You Go is $49 a month billed monthly or $44 paid annually
> — https://johnni.ai/pricing/ · Pay As You Go plan card with the billing toggle set to Monthly

**Cost at 500 calls a month** · Yes — A$559 (about $386) a month on Starter for 500 calls of 2.5 minutes (1250 billed minutes). Billing increment not stated: computed per second (2.5 min a call). If they round each call up to the minute (3 min), it is A$659 (about $455).

> $299/mo +GST
> — https://johnni.ai/pricing/ · Starter plan card with the billing toggle set to Monthly

**What it bills by** · Yes — Plans are sold as a monthly fee with a pool of included minutes, and every minute past the allowance is charged per minute at a rate that steps down on bigger plans.

> Then $0.50 a minute after that
> — https://johnni.ai/pricing/ · Pay As You Go plan card, under included minutes

**Past your allowance** · Yes — Calls keep being answered past the allowance and the extra minutes are billed per minute: 50c on Pay As You Go down to 35c on Growth, so there is no hard stop or forced upgrade.

> Bigger your plan, cheaper your minutesPer-minute rate steps down from 50c to 35c as you grow. Change plans any time.
> — https://johnni.ai/pricing/ · Add-on notes beneath the plan comparison table

**Spam calls not billed** · Yes — Spam and time-waster protection is listed on the comparison table for every plan, though the vendor does not say whether filtered calls still consume included minutes.

> Spam and time-waster protection
> — https://johnni.ai/pricing/ · Plan comparison table, Answering section row

## What it does on the call

**Books appointments** · Yes — It checks the live calendar and books into Google Calendar during the call with the job details attached, so the caller hangs up with a confirmed time rather than a link.

> It books straight into your Google Calendar during the call, with the job details attached, so the caller hangs up with a confirmed time.
> — https://johnni.ai/ · FAQ, 'How does it book appointments for me?'

**Transfers to a person** · Yes — Warm transfer is on every plan: it puts the caller through and briefs you first, and if you do not pick up it returns to the line and takes the details instead of using voicemail.

> It puts the caller through and whispers you the context first. If you don’t pick up, it comes straight back on the line and takes the details instead of dumping them into voicemail.
> — https://johnni.ai/ · 'Why it doesn’t sound like a robot' section, item 02

**After-hours rules** · Yes — Answers 24/7 including nights, weekends and public holidays, and you choose the scope: all calls, after-hours only, or just the ones not picked up within four rings.

> You choose how much of that you want: everything, after-hours only, or just the calls you don’t pick up within four rings.
> — https://johnni.ai/ · FAQ, 'Is it really 24/7?'

**Urgent calls escalated** · Partly — Escalation chains that ring an on-call roster until someone accepts are offered in the custom build tier, not in the self-serve plans, and are quoted per business.

> After-hours lines that ring your on-call roster until someone accepts
> — https://johnni.ai/pricing/ · 'Enterprise and custom builds' section, feature list

**Human receptionists as backup** · No — There is no vendor-staffed human team behind the AI: calls it cannot handle are warm-transferred to you or your own on-call people, so after-hours cover depends on your staff answering.

> Warm call transfer to you
> — https://johnni.ai/pricing/ · Plan comparison table, Answering section row

**Asks your questions** · Yes — You set the questions, rules and knowledge it works from, and can edit services, hours and the knowledge base yourself in the portal with changes live on the next call.

> Your FAQs, rules and business knowledge
> — https://johnni.ai/pricing/ · Plan comparison table, Answering section row

**Answers about your business** · Yes — It is seeded from your own website's services, hours and FAQs, answers only from information you approved, and says it does not know rather than guessing.

> It answers from the information you’ve approved, not from general knowledge, with fact-checking and safety rails on top.
> — https://johnni.ai/ · FAQ, 'What if the AI makes something up?'

**Texts your callers** · Partly — Texting the caller works but is a paid add-on at $50 a month on every plan, covering SMS alerts, texting a link and booking reminders rather than a full two-way text conversation.

> SMS alerts, text-a-link and booking reminders+$50/mo
> — https://johnni.ai/pricing/ · Plan comparison table, 'After every call' section row

## What you get after the call

**Call summary by text** · Partly — Email summaries plus a recording and transcript are on every plan; getting the summary as an SMS alert requires the $50 a month SMS add-on.

> Email summaries
> — https://johnni.ai/pricing/ · Plan comparison table, 'After every call' section row

**Recordings and transcripts** · Yes — Every call is recorded, transcribed and summarized in the portal within minutes of hanging up, on every plan including the cheapest.

> Recording, transcript and a plain-English summary of every conversation, in your portal minutes after it hangs up.
> — https://johnni.ai/ · 'You hear every call it took' panel

## What it connects to

**Google Calendar** · Yes — Google Calendar sync and the vendor's own free Scheduler are included on every plan

> CalendarFree Scheduler, with Google Calendar sync
> — https://johnni.ai/pricing/ · Plan comparison table, Tools section row

**Outlook** · Partly — the site names no Outlook, Microsoft 365 or Calendly booking path, so those are not established.

> CalendarFree Scheduler, with Google Calendar sync
> — https://johnni.ai/pricing/ · Plan comparison table, Tools section row

**Calendly** · Partly — the site names no Outlook, Microsoft 365 or Calendly booking path, so those are not established.

> CalendarFree Scheduler, with Google Calendar sync
> — https://johnni.ai/pricing/ · Plan comparison table, Tools section row

**CRM, Zapier and webhooks** · Partly — A CRM with lead scoring is included on every plan, but writing callers into HubSpot, Pipedrive, Zoho or your job software is a custom add-on quoted per business rather than a switch you flip.

> Connecting your job software (ServiceM8, simPRO, ServiceTitan, Zoho, Pipedrive, HubSpot) so Johnni books straight into it is a custom add-on, quoted per business.
> — https://johnni.ai/pricing/ · Pricing FAQ, 'Is the job software integration included?'

**Your trade’s software** · Partly — Trade job software is supported in principle, naming ServiceM8, simPRO and ServiceTitan, but only as a custom integration quoted per business and marked 'Quoted' in every plan column.

> Job software integrationServiceM8, Simpro, ServiceTitan and moreQuoted
> — https://johnni.ai/pricing/ · Plan comparison table, 'Setup and terms' section, job software row

## Trying it, starting and leaving

**Free trial or free plan** · Partly — The 7 day trial comes with 30 free minutes to set up and test the receptionist, but the vendor frames it as hearing it before it answers a customer, and the paid plan begins the day your number is issued.

> You get 7 days and 30 free minutes of test calls to set up your receptionist and hear it for yourself before it answers a single customer.
> — https://johnni.ai/pricing/ · Pricing FAQ, 'How does the free trial work?'

**Card required to start** · Yes — A card is taken at signup for the 7 day trial but is not charged, and canceling before the plan starts costs nothing.

> We take your card at signup but don’t charge it.
> — https://johnni.ai/pricing/ · Pricing FAQ, 'How does the free trial work?'

**Sign up without a sales call** · Yes — Every plan has a self-serve signup path through the portal with no demo required, and the vendor explicitly offers the self-serve trial as the alternative to booking a call.

> Not sure yet? Start the self-serve trial and upgrade later.
> — https://johnni.ai/pricing/ · 'Enterprise and custom builds' section, closing line

**Setup fee** · No — No setup or onboarding fee on any receptionist plan; the only quoted one-off costs are the job software integration and the $750 outbound caller upgrade on the two cheapest plans.

> No setup fee on any Johnni AI receptionist plan.
> — https://johnni.ai/pricing/ · Pricing FAQ, 'Is there a setup fee?'

**Contract and cancelling** · Yes — Receptionist plans are month to month with no lock-in, and you can terminate at any time with notice, taking effect at the end of the billing period; annual billing is optional for 10 percent off.

> No. Receptionist plans are month to month. Every plan starts with a 7 day free trial with 30 free minutes to set up and test your receptionist, and your plan starts the day you get your phone number or after 7 days. Change or cancel anytime.
> — https://johnni.ai/pricing/ · Pricing FAQ, 'Is there a lock-in contract?'

## Which languages it speaks, and how it sounds

**Languages** · Partly — The vendor only ever names Australian and Kiwi English voices, with New Zealand options Jenna, Vicky and Luke; no other language is claimed anywhere on the plan table or features page.

> Natural Aussie and Kiwi voices
> — https://johnni.ai/pricing/ · Plan comparison table, Answering section row

**Choose or clone the voice** · Partly — You pick from a hand-picked set of Australian and Kiwi voices and can preview and change them any time in the portal; voice cloning of your own voice is not offered anywhere on the site.

> A hand-picked set of Australian and Kiwi voices, tested on real calls. Hear each one before you choose, and change voices any time.
> — https://johnni.ai/features/ · 'A voice that feels like your business' section, 'Local voice line-up' feature

**Hear it before you buy** · Yes — There is a live demo number you can ring to hear the same receptionist, plus a page of recorded sample calls by trade covering plumbing, concreting, accounting and a deliberate stress test.

> Prefer to test it yourself? Ring 07 4519 7035 and ask it anything.
> — https://johnni.ai/ · 'Watch it work' section, below the video

## Your phone number and where it works

**Keep your number** · Yes — You keep your existing business number and forward calls to the Johnni local number, choosing whether to forward everything, overflow, after-hours only or missed calls.

> No. Your number stays yours. We give you a local number, you point call forwarding at it, and that’s the whole setup.
> — https://johnni.ai/ · FAQ, 'Do I have to change my phone number?'

**Australia** · Yes — Sold Australia-wide with local Australian numbers and to New Zealand businesses with Kiwi voices and NZ time zones billing is in Australian dollars and no US, Canadian, UK, EU or Australian-outside offer appears on the site.

> Johnni AI is built and run out of Queensland. Same timezone, same accent, and a real person on the other end of the email. We answer calls for businesses in every state, from Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane to Adelaide and Perth, and across the Tasman in New Zealand.
> — https://johnni.ai/ · 'Find us' section

## Who it is built for

**Industries it is set up for** · Yes — The vendor ships trade-specific pages, scripts and demo calls for plumbers, electricians, HVAC, roofing, solar, concreting, fencing, landscaping, locksmiths, cleaning, pest control and appliance repair.

> An AI receptionist for trades and service businesses where the phone is the business.
> — https://johnni.ai/ · 'Who we help' section heading and trade links

**Several locations or numbers** · Partly — Several numbers, sites or trades on one account is offered, but only in the quoted custom build tier with an upfront build fee plus a monthly fee, not on any published self-serve plan.

> Multiple numbers, sites or trades on one account
> — https://johnni.ai/pricing/ · 'Enterprise and custom builds' section, feature list

## Getting set up and getting help

**Setup help** · Yes — Guided setup with 30 free minutes to test before going live is on every plan, and the documented path is four steps: import your website, set the rules, link Google Calendar, then forward calls.

> Guided setup, test before you go live
> — https://johnni.ai/pricing/ · Plan comparison table, 'Setup and terms' section row

**Support** · Yes — Support is by phone on an Australian number and by email to support@johnni.ai, with the vendor listing itself as open 24 hours every day; support excludes training, hardware and development unless separately agreed.

> Open 24 hours, every dayPhone 07 4519 7035Email support@johnni.ai
> — https://johnni.ai/ · 'Find us' section, contact list

## What changed

- 2026-10-15 — Capabilities · Free tier · Plan limits · Price · Terms

## Corrections

If you represent Johnni AI, or anything here is wrong or out of date, send a correction with a source. The operations this site accepts from an agent are listed at https://receptionistindex.com/.well-known/agents.json — that catalog needs no key to read, and each entry states its own auth.
